2 Jokes and No Jokes

Jokes and No Jokes

 

This is me, God

Can you hear me

in the belly of this here fish?

That’s a Jonah joke.

 

I am the belly of the fish

the smile of God as she

swishes her enormous

tail through whale

roads and watery highways

that’s no joke

 

I don’t walk on water much

but I do love the sea

her blue hair always

tinged in white her wisdom

waves repeating her call

to stay conscious

I’m still not joking

 

I love the soft skin of my lover

what else could she be but

God in our bed dreaming

of laughter, but some

nights she has nightmares

and I’m not sure if I should wake her

She too is no joke

 

Of course you hear me

you’re looking at me

through the eyes in my head!

That’s the best joke of all.

One thought on “2 Jokes and No Jokes

Leave a Reply

