Apparently I Was Taken Seriously


O love, O pure deep love, be here, be now

Be all; worlds dissolve into your stainless endless radiance,

Frail living leaves burn with you brighter than cold stars;

Make me your servant, your breath, your core.

—Rumi

When I asked to be love’s servant,

I was sent a spool and asked to coil the length

of the November’s wind. I was sent a net and told

to gather all the midday blue. I was asked to sieve

the moon’s reflection from the pond and then

to count the breaths between the dawn and

evening’s dim. Build a fire from stone. Put it out

with bare hand. Build a bridge with my spine.

Make a soup of tears. I did it. Did it laughing. Obeyed

every wish. Sit with silence, said love.

Sit with fear. Sit alone.

No work harder than nothing,

nothing to be done.

One thought on “Apparently I Was Taken Seriously

Leave a Reply

