Remembering How to Pray, in Town Park, December 2009

Make me more breath than gasp,

more glide than grunt, more thrust

than thud. Slide me, fly me, soar and

coast me, skim and skate me. Rush

and whoosh me. Give me wings in my feet,

give me race in my thighs, give me dash,

give me lilt, give me sprint in my push,

there is hush in my wish, there is awe

on my lips. O legs be lissome. O arms be swung.

O lungs be vast. O breath be song. O skis

be susurrous. O winter, be snow-deep, be long.

Leave a Reply

