So I Try to Laugh, Too, But

After the waves erased your name

from the sand, I wrote it in the stars,

constellating tiny points of light

into familiar letters. And when

dawn elided the stars, I carved

your name on my tongue,

as if I could hold you closer that way,

as if I could bring you inside. After

all this time, all these intimate words,

all these kisses, I still rummage

for ways to make you mine, and mine

you are not. And the world’s we are.

And the mind says clutch. It says, release.

It fights with its own reasoning.

I’m learning. I don’t want to learn.

I try to surrender. I forget. I want

to be claimed, to be branded by love.

And love laughs, spirals loose,

and plays harder to get.

Leave a Reply

