Go to the Doctor in the Morning


In a world that ate the weak, we didn’t have a prayer.
Tony Hoagland, “Sentimental Education”


So I fail.
I fail again.
I am human,
more than human,
and I sin.
I try to be strong
and I am not.
I get greedy
and wear
the black socks
of jealousy.
I hate.
Sometimes
I do not say
what must be said.
And if
I have a prayer
it is to be open.
And if
I have a hope,
it is to
listen.
And if
I could love more
I would.
I drink
the cup
of deepest sorrows,
give grace
for the tenderest joys.
And the world
chews me up.
Spits me out.
I’m more whole
for the breaking.
I lean into loss,
step barefoot into
the fire.

Leave a Reply

