For You


on a phrase from Kim Addonizio

For you I have watched my dreams
change color. For you I have built
new walls around a new home,

new walls I have fashioned with all
my intention and then, for you,
I have pulled them all down. For you I have

learned to say I love you more often
and for you I have learned to say nothing
at all. For you I have learned to fling open

my arms and let the fear rush in. And let
the fear rush through. And let the fear
do what fear will do and still stand here

with arms flung open wide. For you,
I have lost what I know. For you,
I have learned to pray, to embrace

the bliss inside the ache. For you
I unfold my wonderment, I cradle
my doubt and let it go. For you, I bake cookies,

I grow cucumbers, I sing low
under my breath. For you I
have not fixed the questions in me

so that we might slip through them
and find ourselves together
in a new and vaster space.

Leave a Reply

