Split

And evening comes and there
was not enough time today

to love you, which is to say
that somehow the hours went

by and I didn’t make the time
to love you, which is to say

that there are thousands of things
to do in a day, one of which is

to love you. And what does
that look like, that love, if not

putting aside every other thing—
the dinner to make, the miles to drive,

the fruit to deliver, the plans to make,
what is love if not to put aside every other thing

and pay attention to you with every
cell of my body, you the center,

you the sun, you the door I knock on,
you the core, you the root, you

the stem, you the eye
and I the one who revolves

around you, I the one who sometimes
tries to be six or ten, I the one who is learning

how spectacular the moment can be
when it is just you and I give you all of me.

Leave a Reply

