274–I Do

what i’m saying is after being
unmarried for the past 23 years
and married for the 17 years before
that i’m feeling like i know both
sides of it though i have been the
“California sanctioned Domestic
Partner” for the last five years
the title sounds to me like we
became each other’s maids,
which during my heterosexual
marriage might have described
me somewhat but damn it
i’d like to marry the love of
the rest of my life for reasons
of community and honor and
pride of accomplishment my
parents have made it together
for 64 years many not so
pleasant some of my best friends
have long-term lovers along
with their long-term marriages
i say whatever works is fine with
me but this time i would love
to tie the love knot
Leave a Reply

