I Fall Into This Well

(what can I say, I’ve been listening to Rumi)

what could i have been thinking
searching day and night for something
to ease my hunger, pay my bills
i demanded teach me to pray
you said come here and listen
what would you like me to do i asked
you said dive in strip naked beeeeeeeeeee

a burning bush was not your voice
the last train to Georgia did not
carry you to me, but right here
after i jumped into the well from
which i came and kept drowning
there your arms were swimming with mine
speaking to me from my own breath and beating heart

you said die and together we are life, let go the
the rope and bucket let our emptiness fill the universe

Leave a Reply

