The Children Wait

I’m deeply haunted by the children at our border
At night I hear them crying, in the day I search the
Internet for something I might do to relive their pain
So far nothing shows up, governments play at doing
Something, cities volunteer, and still the stupid people
Protest, do they think a five year old will take their jobs

I see no action to take or maybe many of us would open
Our hearts and lives, but instead we wait for congress and Obama
So stuffed full of ways with no means they Pontificate with the pontiff
While the children wait alone, I’m sorry and getting less silent
But it’s still not doing any good if I knew whose door to knock
On my knuckles would be bloody from pounding but instead
My fingers search the keys and no action surfaces, so I’m
Asking you my friends, what can we do.

Leave a Reply

